CLASS OF 2014: Community High School

Chesterfield Community High School presented 154 candidates for graduation during their 15th Annual Commencement Exercises held at the Stuart C. Siegel Center Virginia Commonwealth University on Monday, June 9.

The evening ceremony highlighted graduates who have dreams of becoming successful teachers, nurses and doctors. While most spoken to plan to continue their education at John Tyler Community College and then to a university, some say they still struggle on how they will find the money to pay for their tuition.

Before presenting the Superintendent’s Excellence Award, Dr. Marcus Newsome, Chesterfield County Public Schools Superintendent, was in full fashion when he took out his cell phone and took a picture of the class for his Twitter feed. He presented the two awards along with a $1,000 check to Timothy Luis Acosta and Ashley Marie Gonsalves.

Gonsalves was Class Valedictorian. “I am excited and maybe a little nervous,” she said before taking the podium for her message. “I get to represent the student body. That’s exciting.” Her message focused on how she had grown as a person at Chesterfield Community High School and how Chesterfield Community has helped her to grow as a person.
Additional speakers included the Honorable James M. Holland, Dale District, Chesterfield Board of Supervisors, Chair and Ms. Carrie E. Coyner, Bermuda District, Chesterfield County School Board.

Chairman Holland encouraged the students to not give up on themselves or their dreams.  “Rise and give it your best,” he said referring to their rise as the Chesterfield Community High School Eagles. He urged the students to be kind to others, smile and be gentle.

Board Member Coyner issued a “Top 10” of approaching life which directed the graduates to take care of their body, apologize, the importance of education, trust your heart, listen to your feelings and don’t be afraid to try something new.

A total of 14 awards and scholarships were given out during the ceremonies.


Timothy Luis Acosta
Amanda Kaylyn Adkins
Matthew Lany Agnese
Ashley Yanira Almendarez
Madison Renee Anderson
Teyona Sade Baker
Gennavie Ashli-Mae Barriga
Amber Dawn Blanchard
Kelsey Anne Breeden
Sydnee Faith Opal Brown
Lee Donia Bryson
Xavier Zoran Louis Burford
Troy Emmanuel Bush
Cody Scott Call
Allen Yves Calloway
Jhonatan Wilfredo Canales Aquino
Yuri Marielo Cardoza
Amelia Joanne Carley
Bianca Michelle Cason
Jason Louis Chavarria
James Deforrest Churchwell
Teri-Ashli Monique Coe
Kenya C Coleman
Alexus Lavonda Cooper
William Robert   Cox, Jr.
Breanna Lashay Daniels
Taylor Kelsey Davis
Adam Umar Dean
Caleb Judson Degan
William Michael Denius
Keymonta  Dennis
Linzee Anne Desper
Denis Omar Diaz
Tiffany Kate Dix
Luis Gabriel Dominguez
Christopher Edmund Douglas
Benjamin Nathaniel Eads
Kaitlyn Amber Eberth
Gabriana Gabi Ebron
Rebekkah Anne Elswick
Frederick  Douglas Ferguson
Suthasia Jakayne Tisheenette Fountain
Jose Guadalupe Francisco
Jaequan Nathaniel Gabriel
Randal Dean Gaither, Jr
Gunnar Douglas Galyen
Tavario Eric Gates
Ashley Marie Gonsalves
Alyssa Rae Gonzales
Leilani Kilolo Gray
Sable Diana Grayson
Timaya Angelou Green
James Leeroy Hagy
Aubrey Danielle Hammond
Timothy  Hampton, Jr.
Johnathan Taylor Hanuska
Caddie Alexandra Hicks
Maya  Hodge
Marckese Shamar Holtz
Kynesha Markee Houp
Heath Elliot Hubbard
Joseph Otis Jackson
Imani-Jean Chardonnay Johnson
Brandon Lamont Jones
Zearel Lequan King
Zearl Leslie King
Quaneisha Mae Lewis
Jonathan Berkley Lythgoe
Micah Ayana Maddox
Tiara Nicole Martin
Tahjee Shiatwan Mashore
Hunter William Miles
Charles Alexander Miller
Jason Dewayne Miller
Maquel Dayunn Mills
Xavier Alexander Mitchell
Gypsy Lee Moczo
Joshua Phun Mom
Marlo Esteny Monge
Cheyenne Taylor Morgan
Jamel Rochelle Morris
Richard Maurice Newbill
Christopher Renard Nickens
Jesse Nathaniel Palma
James Nathan Papallo
Jasmine Alyce Payton
Jesse  Douglas Peets
Julian  Perez
Quentin Hudson Perry
Nylah  Phillips
Brittany Nicole Philmon
Phoutthasone  Andrew Phrachamreundy
Tanaysha Nicole Pleasant
Emily Morgan Powell
Maria Lynn Rakowsky
Chelsa Arnetta Ramos
Yesmi Yesenia Reyes-Morales
Vonte Reshaun Riddick
Julian Michael Rose
Jayell Lynn Schoorens
Kurstie  Shearin
Madeline Mae Shortt
Ashley Lynn Slate
Anthony Denard Smith
Austin Tyler Smith
Breanna Renae Smith
Jequon Rashawn Smith
Jermaine Jerome Smith
Benjamin Timothy Smith, Jr
Chelsea  Michelle Spain
Barron Tahjee Spurlock
Kaitlin Rae Tanner
Donald Lewis Tate
Tony Steve Teo
Kenneth Leroy Threatts
Chante’ Laverne Trueheart
Brian Gerard Vaughan
Chad Ryan Wagner
Allyson Paige Walters
Justin Ricardo Webb
Deontae Eugene White
Megan Nicole Wildman
Anjelica Lakiesha Wilkes
Devon Matthew Williams
Kyah Ashley Lavern Williams
Teosha Marshae Williams
Tyler Shayne Wilson
Jamal Devonte Wilson-Robinson
Jantera Kionna Winston
Derrek Charles Womack
Kara Nicole Woodson
Thomas Aaron Wright


Post new comment

More information about formatting options

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.