Recent successes in CCPS recognized

Dr. Laura Hebert, principal of L.C. Bird High School, is the new chair of the U.S. Lacrosse Board of Directors, which develops policies and priorities for U.S. lacrosse. Hebert, who has umpired for nearly 30 years, will serve as board chair through July 31, 2014, and will oversee several initiatives, including the men’s 2014 world championship in Denver (equivalent to soccer’s World Cup) and a $12 million capital campaign to build a national headquarters in Baltimore. U.S. Lacrosse is on the cutting edge of concussion management and awareness, and Dr. Hebert’s experience working with the U.S. Lacrosse Sports Science and Safety Committee has benefited the concussion management team of Chesterfield County Public Schools.

National Achievement semifinalists for 2012
Chesterfield County’s National Achievement semifinalists for 2012 are Matoaca High student Crystalin Harris and Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School student Kara Mason. Conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corp., this program recognizes outstanding African-American students. Later in the school year, about 80 percent of the semifinalists will become finalists and more than half of the finalists will earn National Achievement Scholarships.

Award from Virginia Crime Stoppers
For an informational video created for Chesterfield Crime Solvers, media students from Meadowbrook High won the 2012 Media Representative of the Year Award from the Virginia Crime Stoppers Association. The award will be presented at 8:30 a.m. Nov. 16 at the Eanes-Pittman Public Safety Training Center, 6610 Public Safety Way. The video is available at the school.

Virginia Naturally Schools
Four of the 51 schools recognized this year as Virginia Naturally Schools are in Chesterfield:

  • Bettie Weaver Elementary, honored for the fifth year
  • Clover Hill High, honored for the fifth year
  • James River High, honored for the fourth year
  • Robious Elementary, honored for the third year

The Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries oversees this program to honor schools for environmental conservation and stewardship.


Post new comment

More information about formatting options

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.