What's Up: Upcoming Events

Chesterfield firefighters to receive Valor Awards

The Retail Merchants Association, or RMA held its 23rd Annual Valor Awards Breakfast and Ceremony on Friday Oct. 5, at the Greater Richmond Convention Center.

A nice break

Life isn’t normal when you live with a chronic disease. Some days are bad, but some days are really good. Faith Miller has been living with a chronic disease since she was first diagnose in the fourth grade. She has Cystic Fibrosis.

Warriors march on

Bringing home a Superior rating and selected as the Overall Grand Champions in their first marching band contests this season, Matoaca High School Marching Band has proven to be one of the best on the field.

Virginia State University awarded military-friendly-schools title

Victory Media, the premier media entity for military personnel transitioning into civilian life, has named Virginia State University to the coveted Military Friendly Schools list.

TDHS’s performing arts department will present full chorale, orchestra concert

Thomas Dale High School will present a spectacular concert on Monday, Oct. 22, featuring a 200 voice chorale and full orchestra in an evening of thoughtful and moving music.

Skyhawks induct fifth Hall of Fame Class

The L.C. Bird High School Athletic Hall of Fame added six new members at a ceremony held last Saturday at The Country Club at the Highlands. Friends, family and faith continue to mark the theme of the annual ceremonies that have now recognized forty-five players, coaches and supporters of the Skyhawk nation.

Knights’ Cross Country results

The Thomas Dale Cross-Country Team is having a successful season this year. The boys’ team has only one loss to Matoaca and the girls’ team is undefeated so far this season, for the first time in several years.

Central District announces All-District golf team

All-District Team
Griffin Clark (Thomas Dale), Player of the Year
Jeremy Craft (Thomas Dale)
Eric Blythe (Thomas Dale)
Matthew Padgett (Matoaca)
Bret Lockett (Matoaca)
Davis Topping (Matoaca)
Zachary Wood (Meadowbrook)

All-Academic Team
Jeremy Craft (Thomas Dale)
Matthew Padgett (Matoaca)
Zachary Wood (Meadowbrook)

Coach of the Year
David Duncan (Thomas Dale)

Regular Season Champions Region Qualifying Team