Chesterfield has 106 National Board Certified Teachers

Eleven additional Chesterfield teachers have achieved National Board certification, which is one of the highest credentials in education, and one of Chesterfield’s National Board Certified Teachers has renewed her certification.

Board approves new contract for superintendent

The Chesterfield County School Board unanimously approved a new contract for Superintendent Marcus J. Newsome during its meeting last week. The new contract totals $273,996 annually, including deferred and other compensation. It will run through June 30, 2017, and replaces a contract that was to expire June 30, 2015.

Virginia State University breaks ground on new Multipurpose Center

Last Friday afternoon, over 200 people braved the chilly, but sunny, afternoon to celebrate the groundbreaking for Virginia State University’s new multipurpose center. The center will be the first of its kind for southeast Virginia.

YMCA CEO speaks at Key Club meeting

Last Wednesday evening, Tim Joyce, the President and CEO of the Richmond area YMCA spoke to 54 members of the Thomas Dale Key Club about the opportunities for young leaders in community service.

Libobot in first action challenge

Chesterfield County Public Library “Libobot” team located at the Central Library competed in their first robotic challenge against 40 Virginian school teams at the packed St. Christopher school arena to qualify for the FTC (FIRST Tech Challenge) 2013-2014 Central Virginia State Championship in March.

Santa reads to Ettrick students

Ettrick Elementary School held Library Night on Thursday, December 12. Students were surprised to see the Gingerbread Man and Santa who read a special book. Santa and the elves passed out candy canes and cookies as well. The event was very exciting for everyone in attendance.

Father-Daughter dance at Wells

C.C. Wells Elementary School girls liked the father/daughter dance held in April so much the P.T.A. jumped on the chance to host another event for Christmas, which was held last weekend. Fathers took a break after Santa and the Grinch arrived.

Matoaca student wins in “Costume Couture” event

This fall Matoaca High School senior Chris Quarterman was chosen to participate in the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts Teen Stylin’ three-month fashion program, a competition that promotes today’s creative youth. This year the theme was “Costume Couture.”