Now is the time to apply for prekindergarten

Prekindergarten applications are now being taken for the 2014-15 school year.

Saving Virginia’s Rosenwald Schools among the activities scheduled for JTCC’s celebration of Black History Month

In the era between the Civil War and the Civil Rights Movement, the Rosenwald rural school building program provided critical educational opportunities to African Americans in the South. Through this initiative, pioneered by Booker T. Washington and Julius Rosenwald, more than 5,000 Rosenwald Schools were built, including 364 in Virginia.

Students honored for creations in art

Each year, the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards honor the creative abilities of middle and high school students throughout the country. This year, 168 Chesterfield County students achieved a total of 86 Gold Keys, 93 Silver Keys and 133 honorable mentions.

Matoaca High Impact wins Grand Champion in overall division

The recent record breaking snow in local Virginia has been a major setback in people’s everyday schedules, but it sure didn’t stop Matoaca Show Choir, High Impact, from reaching their goals.

Matoaca brains in Final Four

The Matoaca Academic Team has become a force to be recognized this school year, posting the best finish in school history and therefore advancing to the Final Four of CBS 6 Battle of the Brains Competition.

Chesterfield Federal Credit Union offers three $1000 scholarships to high school seniors

Chesterfield Federal Credit Union (CFCU) has announced that for the thirteenth year in a row, they will offer the Charles R. Quaiff, Sr. Memorial Youth Scholarship to three local high school students. Each scholarship is worth $1000.

FY2015 school budget proposal encourages reinvestment in schools and students

Superintendent Marcus Newsome presented his fiscal year 2015 (begins next school year) budget proposal January 28 during the Chesterfield County School Board meeting. Calling the proposal “a springboard toward reinvesting in education in Chesterfield County”

CCPS is chasing technology

Chromebooks will allow Chesterfield County Public Schools (CCPS) to get closer to high-tech fever, which is crossing the country with a vengeance. In September, students will get their first look at the new education tool.